Reader’s block

Non ne soffro. Non ne ho mai sofferto. Spero di non soffrirne mai. Ma Stuart Jeffries, giornalista del Guardian, ha analizzato le cause di questa patologia:

There is a thing called reader’s block. It is not the same as writer’s block. In fact, reader’s block is a phenomenon partly explained as a reader’s all-too-understandable response to so many writers not having writer’s block. It is often said that everybody has a novel in them. The current problem is that so many of us bring that novel out of ourselves and get it published. It would help cure reader’s block if lots of people resolved not to.

[…]

Another possibility is that books per se are not especially interesting, despite what writers (who have a vested interest in suggesting otherwise) say. This may not be the thing to say seven months into the government-backed National Year of Reading, but how can books be interesting when respondents to surveys give such pathetic answers when asked what they do rather than reading books? According to Teletext’s 2007 study of 4,000 Britons’ reading habits, the top reasons for not reading are: too tired (48%); watch TV instead (46%); play computer games (26%); work late (21%). A lot of respondents say that they do not have time to read books except when they go on holiday and then, because they are so unfamiliar with the literary world, many of them find it not just difficult to know what to read but (there is no nice way to say this) also how to turn the pages. No respondent cited the more plausible reason for not reading, namely the want of application and total spinelessness that is common in the modern age.

Si passa poi al reader’s block degli scrittori. E a questo proposito ci sono le risposte sempre bellissime di Germaine Greer:

Have you experienced reader’s block?
It’s just a different world. I read all the time; I can’t stop reading. It might apply to my assistant, but she is on holiday, so she is probably reading like mad.
Could you recommend a book to get people reading again? Oh God, I don’t read novels! Why do people think that reading a book means reading a fucking novel? You finish reading the book and you think “Well, that’s over. There’s four hours down the drain.” At least in non-fiction you might pick up some information you can trust. My whole world is built out of books, but they aren’t Booker prize-winners, which I frankly always think are overrated. Like lots of people who end up reading stuff they don’t want to read, what I pick up is mainly dictated by what’s in the airport bookshop, which is a very depressing cross-section. I think some people are reading a whole lot more that they need to be. I think all these children banging themselves on the head with Harry Potter would be better off doing almost anything else. Why are we so sanctimonious and moralistic about reading?

Postato da: IM

1 Response to “Reader’s block”


  1. 1 luigimuzii 6 agosto 2008 alle 9:55 am

    Thank you Ms Greer for saying, I don’t read novels too!

    E potrei aggiungere: perché si deve sostenere lo sguardo incredulo e stupit(d)o di coloro che ti sentono dire che leggi per studio e non per piacere?

    Mia figlia legge e rilegge continuamente i libri della saga di Harry Potter e io mi trovo spesso a spingerla a rifare quelli che sono state le mie scelte letterarie, rigorosamente adolescenziali e di gioventù.

    Vale lo stesso per la musica. Oltre che di tascabili, sono stato un vorace consumatore di LP, e mi ritrovo, vicino al mezzo secolo, a un’età in cui consideravo mio padre già vecchio, a sentire ancora la musica di allora, o i musicisti che ho conosciuto allora e ancora incidono oggi.

    Mia moglie e mia sorella, invece, non leggerebbero un saggio nemmeno sotto tortura, e sono rimaste avide lettrici di ottimi autori.

    Concordo con la Greer anche nel giudizio sui premi e ho una mia opinione sui criteri di assegnazione del Nobel. Non ho mai finito “Arcipelago Gulag” che trovavo di una noia mortale, e sono sempre stato convinto che Solzenitzin non sarebbe stato lo scrittore acclamato che fu se avesse scritto oggi. A lui ho sempre privilegiato Sacharov, che scrittore non era e che ebbe il coraggio di esprimere pubblicamente, non in una letterina che doveva restare privata, il suo dissenso. Il prezzo pagato dal primo fu molto, ma molto più vantaggioso di quello pagato dal secondo.

    Ancora oggi mi chiedo se Dario Fo fosse meritevole del Nobel e Umberto Eco del successo come scrittore.


Lascia un commento

Visitatori

  • 155,900 visitatori

a

Ongoing Tweets


